Who run the world?

In the words of Beyoncé, girls do…or so I thought. After international women’s day was celebrated far and wide across the world this week (08.03.2017) I was left feeling mixed emotions about it all. On the one hand I felt very proud to be a woman and proud of how far we have come already in fighting for equality. Seeing the sheer amount of social media posts from both men and women dedicated to IWD was just incredible. On the other I felt quite sad and dis-heartened. This was due to the way some women and men conducted themselves and continue to conduct themselves even to the point of you reading this today. I am honestly fed up of seeing people beating other people down just because we disagree, we don’t share the same views or ‘have different versions of the same thing’. (hence the reason why I am writing to share this with you all)

A prime example of this is the recent saga concerning Emma Watson and her relationship with feminism. For those of you who don’t know, she has been criticised quite harshly (I feel) about a photoshoot she has done for Vanity Fair. In said photo part of her breasts are exposed.

ac_emmawatson_vanityfair_comp
Emma Watson on her photoshoot for Vanity Fair – the left photo is said photo in question

Now the main argument put forward by ‘critics’ and a lot of other people were that she has betrayed her feminist roots by posing for said ‘revealing’ picture. However Emma has hit back at these comments with:

Feminism is about giving women choice. Feminism is not a stick with which to beat other women with. It’s about freedom, it’s about liberation, it’s about equality. I really don’t know what my tits have to do with it. It’s very confusing.

And I have to say I am with her on this, I think she has made complete sense in what she has said here. If we just sit and think for a moment, everyone fighting for feminism and equal rights but then we have some of the same people slating Emma for this photoshoot? Is that not a complete contractdiction to the cause that you are supposedly fighting for? Like Emma has said here, feminism is about freedom and liberation, so why not let people do with their body what they will? If she wants to stand butt-naked for a photo then she should have every right to do so! If you don’t want to see it then do not look for it. Me personally, I don’t think that this photo is a particular outrage as some people seem to think? She’s showing no more than other women have at high profile events like the Oscars or the Brits Awards. I don’t know, is it just me?

2615F6E600000578-2968890-Who_did_it_best_L_R_Rita_Ora_left_Ellie_Goulding_centre_and_Tayl-a-53_1424890388749
Rita Ora at the Brit Awards a few years ago – looking fierce af.
a4
Jlo also looking fierce af on the Oscars red carpet a few years ago

 

I get that not everyone will have the same viewpoints on what feminism means for them, but do we not feel like our time would be better spent and more productive by supporting one another instead? I don’t know maybe that’s too crazy an idea. Truthbetold this was not the only thing that happened that made me feel so deflated and frustrated with the world but I won’t bore you with the rest.

Personally I fell it’s about time we really started to make a conscious effort to put out more positivity and support one another in general, male or female, regardless of race or religion.Just sit and think of what humanity could achieve if we did this? I don’t know, maybe one day in my lifetime I’ll get to see this, who knows.

I’m sorry if this post is a little negative but I just felt like it was something I needed to come talk about on here (and after all that’s what this place is for!) Do let me know what you think! But do remember if you can’t say anything nice then don’t say anything at all. There’s a way to talk to each other to discuss different viewpoints and being nasty is not it.

Hannah x (1)

Author: hannahbiscuit

Head to my blog littlethoughtsfromhannah.wordpress.com to find out more

Leave a Reply

