What a ‘Diamond’!

For those of you who may know me quite well (and for those who have had a nosey around my blog) you will know that I am someone who loves a good book. Now yes I did read before coming to live in France but admittedly I did struggle (like so many others) to find the spare time to do it back home in Manchester.

If I had to summarise the types of books I read, I would say fiction over non-fiction and within the fiction bracket my go-tos would be a good romance novel, fantasy sometimes and I’ll always be up for reading a good comedy. Cliché I know but voilà this is my taste in reading haha. Never would I have thought I would be adding Crime/Thriller/Mystery type novels to my list until I stumbled across The Secret by Katerina Diamond.

9780008172213.jpg.png
A ‘must-read’ for all the crime fiction lovers out there – definitely not for the squeamish

I came across thie absolute gem whilst browsing the iBook store back in mid-January I think? Something about the cover drew me in (definitely the cake – always intrigued by cake) and I had a read of the description:

“Bridget Reid has a secret, one that could get her killed If she can escape the man who is keeping her locked in a basement bedroom.

DS Imogen Grey is good at keeping secrets truths she’d never reveal to her colleagues at Exeter Police. She worked hard to get where she is she nearly died for it. Now her past is catching up with her

As DS Grey and her partner DS Adrian Miles search for Bridget, they uncover a terrifying web of abuse, betrayal and murder. And they realise that some secrets are better left buried”

I am 100% not going to give you any spoilers or talk too much about the plot other than the fact it had me completely hooked, I could not put this book down. I think I finished it in about 10 days (I realise other people may have a booked finished in 10 hours but between work and other stuff this was a fast finish of a book for me). Word of warning: this book is quite brutal and I would say it is definitely not for the faint hearted, Diamond is quite descriptive with some of the scenes that happen in this novel.

The book itself is written in third person (this will make a difference to some of you out there). The way the book is written is quite cool in the sense that you have different parts of the overall story being told and they do link together somehow (the fun is definitely trying to figure it out and the satisfaction you feel once it all falls into place). Admittedly I did also find the book a little difficult to get started with because of this but once I got used to it, I was away and no one could stop me haha!

28595333
Also a great ‘must-read’ for crime fiction lovers

Towards the end of reading The Secret I discovered that Diamond had another novel The Teacher and researching a little further into them both, I think that this was actually the first novel she wrote (and this is now the book I am reading – so if you have read it please no spoilers!). Both books’ protagonists are DS Imogen Grey and DI Adrian Miles but the books are not otherwise linked with one another so it is not a continued story line (meaning you do not have to read one to be able to read the other). However I would recommend starting with The Teacher – just down to information you learn about the characters, think it might be better that way (not a major issue if you don’t, you should still enjoy them either way).

I’m going to stop myself here before I end up revealing too much! Do you have any good book recommendations? Please let me know if you get a chance to read these books and what you thought of them!

★★★★☆ from me!

Hannah x (1)

Author: hannahbiscuit

Head to my blog littlethoughtsfromhannah.wordpress.com to find out more

Leave a Reply

